Connect with us


BET Hip-Hop awards 2015 nominations list out and Drake has the highest nominations



  For a second year in a row, the Canadian rapper, Drake leads the nominees for the BET Hip-Hop Awards with 12 nominations. The multi-award winning act got nods in categories including Best Live Performer, Lyricist of the Year, MVP of the Year, Album of the Year, and Hustler of the Year, and is a featured artist in Best Hip-Hop Video, Best Collabo, Duo or Group, and People’s Champ Award. 

 Big Sean follows with 10 nominations, while Nicki Minaj grabs nine nods. Kendrick Lamar and J. Cole earn eight nominations apiece. 

The event will be hosted by Snoop Dogg on Friday, October 9 at the Boisfeuillet Jones Atlanta Civic Center in Atlanta. 

See a full list of nominees below. 

Best Hip-Hop Video: Big Sean feat. Chris Brown and Ty Dolla $ign – ‘Play No Games’, Big Sean feat. Drake and Kanye West – ‘Blessings’, Fetty Wap – ‘Trap Queen’, Kendrick Lamar – ‘Alright’, Nicki Minaj feat. Beyoncé – ‘Feeling Myself’ 

Best Collabo, Duo or Group: Big Sean feat. Drake and Kanye West – ‘Blessings’, Big Sean feat. E-40 – ‘IDFWU’, Fetty Wap feat. Monty – ‘My Way’, Nicki Minaj feat. Beyoncé – ‘Feeling Myself’, Nicki Minaj feat. Drake and Lil Wayne – ‘Truffle Butter’ 

Best Live Performer: Drake, J.Cole, Kanye West, Kendrick Lamar, Nicki Minaj 

Lyricist of the Year: Big Sean, Drake, J.Cole, Kendrick Lamar, Nicki Minaj 

Video Director of the Year: Alan Ferguson, Benny Boom, Chris Robinson/Lil Chris, Colin Tilley, Director X 

DJ of the Year: DJ Drama, DJ Envy, DJ Esco, DJ Khaled, DJ Mustard 

Producer of the Year: DJ Mustard, J.Cole, Kanye West, Mike Will Made-It, Pharrell Williams, Timbaland 

MVP of the Year: Big Sean, Drake, Future, J.Cole, Kendrick Lamar, Nicki Minaj 

Track of the Year: ‘Alright’ – Produced by Pharrell Williams and Sounwave (Kendrick Lamar), ‘Blessings’ – Produced by Boi-1da and Vinylz (Big Sean feat. Drake and Kanye West), ‘Commas’ – Produced by DJ Spinz and Southside (Future), ‘IDFWU’ – Produced by Dj Dahi, Dj Mustard, Kanye West and Key Wane (Big Sean feat. E-40), ‘Trap Queen’ – Produced by Tony Fadd (Fetty Wap) 

Album of the Year: Big Sean – Dark Sky Paradise, Drake – If You’re Reading This It’s Too Late, J.Cole – 2014 Forest Hills Drive, Kendrick Lamar – To Pimp A Butterfly, Nicki Minaj – The Pinkprint, Wale – The Album About Nothing 

Who Blew Up Award: Bobby Shmurda, DeJ Loaf, Fetty Wap, Rae Sremmurd, Tink 

Hustler of the Year: Dr. Dre, Drake, J.Cole, Jay Z, Nicki Minaj 

Made-You-Look Award (Best Hip-Hop Style): A$AP Rocky, DeJ Loaf, Drake, Kanye West, Nicki Minaj 

Best Club Banger: Big Sean feat. E-40 – ‘IDFWU’ (Produced by Dj Dahi, Dj Mustard, Kanye West and Key Wane) Dej Loaf – ‘Try Me’ (Produced by Dds) Fetty Wap – ‘Trap Queen’ (Produced by Tony Fadd) Future – ‘Commas’ (Produced by DJ Spinz and Southside) Rich Homie Quan – ‘Flex (Ooh, Ooh, Ooh)’ (Produced by DJ Spinz and Nitti Beatz) 

Best Mixtape: Future – 56 Nights Future – Beast Mode Future – Monster Lil Wayne – Sorry 4 The Wait 2 Travis Scott – Days Before Rodeo 

Sweet 16: Best Featured Verse: Drake – ‘Blessings’ (Big Sean feat. Drake and Kanye West) Drake – ‘My Way (Remix)’ (Fetty Wap feat. Drake) E-40 – ‘IDFWU’ (Big Sean feat. E-40) Kendrick Lamar – ‘Classic Man (Remix)’ (Jidenna feat. Kendrick Lamar) Lil Wayne – ‘Truffle Butter’ (Nicki Minaj feat. Drake and Lil Wayne) 

Impact Track: Big Sean feat. Kanye West and John Legend – ‘One Man Can Change The World’ Common and John Legend – ‘Glory’ (From The Motion Picture ‘Selma’) J.Cole – ‘Apparently’ J.Cole – ‘Be Free’ Kendrick Lamar – ‘Alright’ 

People’s Champ Award:Big Sean feat. Drake and Kanye West – ‘Blessings’ Fetty Wap – ‘Trap Queen’ Future – ‘Commas’ Kendrick Lamar – ‘i’ Rae Sremmurd – ‘No Type’ Rich Homie Quan – ‘Flex (Ooh, Ooh, Ooh)’..

*All the very best to them. Hugs 

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Diddy finally reaches out to Niniola after four years of sending him DMs without response




Top Nigerian Afrobeats songstress, Niniola, and American music star cum businessman, Diddy are set to collaborate.

The duo linked up for the very first time via video call after Diddy was informed about her music and he showed interest in working with her.

It is a story of divine providence and destiny as Niniola sent DM to the rapper as far as 2018, but she never got a response until four years later.

Fast-forward to 2022, and faith had beautiful plans for the singer who was eventually connected with the music executive.

Niniola did not only did get a response from Diddy, but also a spoke with him via FaceTime and he explained the whole situation.

According to the Bad Boy Records CEO, he just never saw her messages because of flooded DMs, however, when he started scouting for an artiste to hop on his Afrobeats remix, someone suggested Niniola.

It was when he tried to send her a message via Instagram that he saw tht had previoulsy DM’s him but he never knew.

Niniola who shared a video of her speaking with the award-winning musician, noted that dreams do come through.

Continue Reading


Ed Sheeran faces trial for plagiarism on ‘Thinking Out Loud’




Ed Sheeran, a British megastar, will testify in court to defend himself against claims that he plagiarized Marvin Gaye for his international hit song “Thinking Out Loud.”

Ed Sheeran, a top-charting artist and internationally successful pop star, has been informed by a federal judge that he must go to trial in response to claims that he plagiarized Marvin Gaye’s 1973 smash song “Let’s Get It On” on his 2014 track “Thinking Out Loud.”

In his application to the court, Ed Sheeran argued that the copyright claims should be rejected because they were “baseless” and “far too frequent.”

The plaintiffs claim that Ed Sheeran and his writing partner Amy Wadge copied and exploited, without authorization or credit the Marvin Gaye song, “including but not limited to the melody, rhythms, harmonies, drums, bass line, backing chorus, tempo, syncopation, and looping.” They are seeking $100 million (£90 million) in damages.

A lawsuit was recently filed against Ed Sheeran and his songwriting partners John McDaid and Steven McCutcheon over claims that a chorus from their song “Shape of You” was lifted verbatim from Ross O’Donoghue and Sami Chokri 2015 single “Oh Why.”

The High Court Judge ruled that the imitation was “not purposefully nor unconsciously” made during the trial that took place in March 2022. Ed and his co-defendants were given £900,000 in costs.

Ed wrote on his Instagram page following the court decision that he hoped it would put an end to more unfounded claims. Ed Sheeran is not yet getting his desire, though, as he must deal with another lawsuit.

Continue Reading


Mr Ibu joins ‘Obidient’ rally in Jos despite endorsing Tinubu (Video)




Mr. Ibu, the comic actor, has joined a rally being held in the name of Peter Obi, the presidential candidate of the Labour Party (LP).

A large crowd trooped out on Wednesday evening to receive Obi and Yusuf Datti, his running mate, in Jos.

The visit came as the campaign season for the 2023 election officially kicked off in accordance with the timetable.

The crowd and Obi’s team assembled at Rwang Pam township stadium for the rally amid cheers from supporters.

In the crowd was Mr Ibu who would later take to the podium to deliver a short solidarity speech for Obi.

“He is ready to rule us. He is ready to take up the seat of the president. I want you to be obidient,” he said.

Continue Reading

Most Read...